NATO and Russia in the Baltic Sea Area-konferenssi

Konferenssi pidetään Helsingissä 4-6.9.2015. Järjestäjänä on No to War – No to NATO-organisaatio yhteistyössä kymmenen muun järjestön mm. WILPF, Suomen osaston kanssa. Tule mukaan ja ilmoittaudu osoitteessa info (at) Lisätietoja: Rekisterointimaksu: 20 € (normaali) / 5 € (alennettu). Konferenssin kieli:englanti


Friday, 4th of September
Arrival of participants and evening reception at Peace Station, Helsinki. Starts at 19.00.

Saturday, 5th of September
10:00 Welcome
– Kristine Karch (No to War – No to NATO), Markku Kangaspuro (Finnish Peace Committee)
10:15 Part 1: Introductory presentations with discussion
– “NATO expansion strategy and the militarization of Europe”
Dave Webb (CND, GB), Elsa Rassbach (Code Pink, USA/Germany)
– “NATO expansion to the Baltic States and Scandinavia”
Laura Lodenius (Finnish Peace Union), Maj Britt Theorin (Sweden), Urve Randmaa (Estonia)
Chair: Kristine Karch
12: 30 Lunch
13:30 Part 2: Working Groups
NATO Expansion and NATO Strategy – Case Studies with discussion
1. Finland (Tarja Cronberg, Finnish Peace Union)
2. Sweden (Ingela Martensson, Women for Peace, Sweden)
3. Poland (Pasquale Policastro, University of Szezcin, Poland)
15:30 Coffee Break
16:15 Part 3: Plenary presentation with discussion
– Russia and the Baltic region – actors and victims
Oleg Bodrov, Green World, Russia
– Russia: controversy in the Western debate
Erhard Crome, Rosa Luxemburg Foundation, Germany
Chair: Ingela Martensson
17:30 Reports from the working groups
Chair: Teemu Matinpuro (Finnish Peace Committee)
18:30 Break
19:00 Panel on Ukraine
Sergei Kirichuk (Borotba, Ukraine), Nina Potarska (EuroMaidan, Ukraine) (tbc), Andrej Hunko (MP Die Linke, Germany), Tord Björk (environmentalist, Sweden), Tarja Cronberg
Chair: Reiner Braun (International Peace Bureau)
20:30 Reception / Get together with Dinner

Sunday, 6th of Sept.
9:30 Part 4: Plenary presentations with discussion
– Political Alternatives to Militarization of the Baltic Sea Area
Ingeborg Breines (International Peace Bureau)
Kimmo Kiljunen (Dr., Special Representative for mediation of Foreign Minister, Finland)
Sven Hirdman (Former Ambassador in Moscow, Sweden)
Claudia Haydt (Information Center Militarization / European Left, Germany)
– Common Security, OSCE, Neutralism
Reiner Braun
Maj Britt Theorin (Sweden)
Nikita Lomagin (Baltic Center of International Studies, Russia)
Mikael Böök, (Finland)
Chair: Lea Launokari (Women for Peace, Finland)
11:30 Short Break
11:45 Part 5: Final Panel:
– Which lessons do we learn and what are our next steps?
Ludo de Brabander, (vrede vzw, Belgium)
Ulla Klötzer (Women for Peace, Finland)
Johanna Norrbo, (Green Women, Sweden)
Tobias Pflüger (Die Linke, Germany)
Chair: Kristine Karch
13:45 Final Words
Lucas Wirl (No to War – No to NATO), Ulla Klötzer
14:00 End of Conference